More soy-batik today!

I promised some shirts with sheep or llamas to some people in my Guild for next Monday and then it occurred to me that it would be hard to get those done over the Thanksgiving break and I had better at least get STARTED on them NOW.

The first time I ever heard of soy wax in batik was at Sonja Lee’s site, when I was looking for batik info last year.

I used some of her ideas about soy wax, but was still looking for something where I didn’t have to do so much washing out in between steps (it is much easier to wash out the soy wax than beeswax and paraffin, but just the same, it is lots of “laundry”). When Judy said she liked my idea of making sheep t-shirts to sell at a festival, this is what I came up with.

I put something inside the shirt, to keep the wax only on the front side. Then I melt the soy wax in the microwave. I lightly tape a paper stencil onto the t-shirt and use a brush to cover the “hole” in the stencil with soy wax. Then I remove the stencil and put the shirt in the freezer for a few minutes. After removing the shirt, the wax has hardened and I remove the paper from inside. The shirt then goes in the dye-bath (cold water, procion dye, salt) for 10 minutes and then activator solution is added and I stir the whole thing sometimes and leave it in for about 45 minutes. Then I rinse out the shirt and wash it in the washing machine on hot.

After the shirt has been dried, I iron freezer paper to the reverse/inside and then paint the features on with silkscreen-type paint. Let dry. Heat set.

Leave a Reply

