Bread

I was poking around and found this recipe on Mother Earth Newshttp://www.motherearthnews.com/Real-Food/2007-12-01/Easy-No-Knead-Dutch-Oven-Crusty-Bread.aspx but I am too impatient to wait that long (like, all day!) for bread.   I made it once, nearly following the recipe, but forgot it rising all night when I oughtn’t have waited quite that long.  It was very flat.  And it didn’t take as long to brown–so it was a little over-browned for my tastes.  But it did taste pretty good. So then I remade it with pretty much my regular bread recipe, and mixed it up in my bread maker and when it was partway through the second rise I dumped it into a big heavy pyrex bowl and oiled it and covered it with a big heavy ceramic plate and let it rise again.  Then I baked it mostly as directed (covered for 30 minutes in a HOT over, I used around 450 instead of 475, then uncovered it for another 5-10 minutes to brown).  Pretty good crust!  Nice and moist.  Can’t decide if it is worth repeating… 

One Response to “Bread”

  1. Laura Evers Says:

    Goodness Gracious WV,

    Thank you for mentioning us on your Web site! We’re happy you enjoy Mother Earth News.

    Loved the post on our bread recipe. Glad it was somewhat helpful.

    Laura Evers
    Mother Earth News

    Check out our brand new Web site for more delicious recipes!
    http://www.motherearthnews.com/real-food

Leave a Reply

