Treebark Stole (free knitting pattern)

Treebark Stole

copyright Grace Gooding

This is meant to be a nearly-stress-free lace-type project for non-technical, non-type-A knitters.  🙂

I bought some Green Mountain Spinnery Sylvan Spirit yarn when it was on clearance at my LYS (okay, this is not the whole story–I got ONE skein for no reason except that I thought it was pretty, then I figured out what to do with it and had to go back to get more, this was how much they had left, in colors that would go together).  I got 3 skeins of Moonshadow (twiggy grey-brown) and 1 skein of Luminous (shiny ivory).  I found the EASIEST possible lace pattern in my Stitch-a-Day Calendar (“open featherwork” on the February 18 page)–it is only a few stitches per repeat and the next row you purl.  I am horrible at lace–I don’t like to concentrate that much on my knitting!  And I hate to rip out, especially lacey stuff, because I can’t ever figure out what to do with the funny bits.  Anyhow, in the “real” stitch, all of the featherwork/open places line up all the way down.  That just wasn’t going to happen, and, it turns out that I really liked the twisty bits where I made mistakes and just knit two together or added a stitch at the end of the row.

 

Materials Used:  Green Mountain Spinnery “sylvan spirit”, 50% fine wool & 50% tencel, 2-ply DK weight

4 skeins  (each 2 oz skein approx 180 yards) for this project

US 9 needle (I used a 29″ long circular, but whatever needles work for you–this is a larger needle size than expected for the yarn, as I wanted the fabric to be open and drapey)

finished stole approx 19″ wide (cast on edge) x 71″ long

 

Instructions:

 

Cast on 80 stitches.

Knit 5 rows of garter stitch (knit all rows, rather than purling on reverse).

All of the rest of the stole will be knit with this stitch pattern (the k5 at the beginning and ending of the rows makes a little garter stitch border):

row A (RS):  k5, *k2tog, yo, k1, yo, slip 1, k1, psso* (repeat between *’s) until the last 5 stitches on the row, k5

row B (WS):  k5, *purl across”, knit last 5 stitches of row

row C (RS every 4-8 rows, you select, if  you don’t naturally mess up the pattern a bit–this shifts the stitches over and makes it look twisty):  k6, yo, k1, slip 1, k1, psso, *k2tog, yo, k1, yo, slip 1, k1, psso* (repeat between *’s), until the last 6 stitches on the row, k2tog, k4

In other words, every few rows (if you don’t mess up all by yourself and your stitches are all lined up nicely, lol), “forget” to k2tog at the beginning of the row and make up for it at the end of the row.  When knitting in pattern, if you miscount or something, when you get to the end of your last pattern repeat for the row, just fix it by knitting two together or knitting into front & back of a stitch or two so you have the 5 knit stitches at the end of the row for the border.

Continue with rows A, B, C until you are nearly out of yarn.  I compared the little ends from where I’d added a ball to see if I was getting close to the end of the ball.  I was nervous about running out and ended up having a few more yards left over than I’d hoped.  Oh well.

Knit all stitches for the last 5 rows (garter stitch border on the other end).  Cast off loosely.

Block the whole thing so it is wider than “normal”.  I didn’t pin it, just soaked it in the sink for a few minutes, squeezed it out in a towel, smoothed it out over a couple of towels on my bed so that it was showing the lace and mostly rectangular.  It took less than 2 hours to dry with the ceiling fan on.

Feel free to let me know if you like it!!  http;//goodnessgraciouswv.wordpress.com or goodnessgracious on Ravelry

PDF file available here for Treebark Stole

2 Responses to “Treebark Stole (free knitting pattern)”

  1. Lime & Violet’s Daily Chum » Blog Archive » Free Pattern: Treebark Stole Says:

    […] ulcer if I drop a stitch or have one stitch too many at the end of a row.  To that end, I love the Treebark Stole by Goodness Gracious WV.  She’s created a simple lace stole pattern with an easy way to fix […]

  2. Darcy Says:

    I love this pattern:)Hugs Darcy

Leave a Reply

