Michael Pollan and Mark Bittman

Two cool writers who talk about food and health in a way I can stand!

Mark Bittman was just on NPR

Mark Bittman: Eating Right Can Save The Planet

Listen 

I liked the interview, and since I am in some sort of posting frenzy (I think it has been brought on by Facebook, as I was “forced” to join over the weekend by my old high school friend Julie), I thought I would link to his book here.  I guess I also ought to go READ it and also Michael Pollan’s book, In Defense of Food.  I LOVE his becoming-famous “Eat Food.  Not too much.  Mostly Plants.” and other common sense type “rules” about not eating things that your great-grandmother wouldn’t recognize as food.  He spoke at Bates College and also on NPR’s Talk of the Nation.

While I’m at it, I want to encourage YOU to use GoodSearch to donate teeny amounts of money to charity when you use it as  your search engine.  I  have mine set to benefit “Christian Associates in Huntington, WV”, which is a food & clothing bank from the Episcopal Church across the street from my own church, where we make lots of donations and send teenagers and others to help out.

One Response to “Michael Pollan and Mark Bittman”

  1. goodnessgraciouswv Says:

    I am actually READING the MIchael Pollan book and it is quite good. Talks a bit about Weston Price, who my sister follows a bit. Eating edible foodlike substances is not good for you! I’m sure that it has been good for us to be shunning most corn syrup and trans fats for the last few years…

Leave a Reply

