My “new” Traub wheel!

This arrived this morning!  I got it from Kathy at katrinaswoolworld on Etsy.  Cool, huh?  I needed another wheel, right?

pict1592

I was busy today and haven’t gotten to play with it much… More when I have fooled around with it longer!  🙂

I also bought a little bit of Finn/Dorset roving from Kathy, but I haven’t played with that either!  

Happy Valentine’s Day!

7 Responses to “My “new” Traub wheel!”

  1. Beth Says:

    Hi – saw you posted about a Traub, so I wanted to write and ask how you like it? I just ordered one from Kathy, too. I’m pretty stoked! 🙂 I’m a pretty new spinner and this will be my first wheel, so if you have any tips about the Traub, do you mind sharing them? Thanks! 🙂

  2. goodnessgraciouswv Says:

    This wheel is lovely. I had a little trouble getting it to wind the yarn on when I first started, although I KNOW how to adjust the tension, in theory. There were two issues: I couldn’t get the little knob and string to tighten enough on the flyer and I couldn’t get the bobbins to spin freely on the flyer shaft. I put a bunch of oil inside the bobbins and spun with no fiber on them, to just loosen things up. And I replaced the string on the tension/brake knob with a leather thong. Doesn’t slip so much. Every now and then I still have to hold the tension knob with one hand to overcome the friction on the flyer/bobbin/shaft problem.

  3. Beth Says:

    Hi – thanks for your thoughts on the Traub. I haven’t had much experience with any type of wheel, but was looking for something that I could afford and wouldn’t have too high of a learning curve. I took a 2 hour class on the wheel a couple of weeks ago, and “got it” so I figure I can figure this one out, too. At any rate, I’m looking forward to learning it’s quirks and whatnot – so thank you! 🙂

  4. stella Says:

    hello,

    I am thinking of buying one of these myself, but am unsure about it. The company is not making them anymore, so what happens if you need to replace a part? Does it really have only one ratio? Can you spin a variety of yarns on it? Is this your only wheel? If not, how does it compare to the others?

    Thanks!

  5. goodnessgraciouswv Says:

    Hi Stella–

    The whole thing is not that complicated–I am not sure what part would “break” and not be replaceable. You likely could get a carpenter or a handyman to fit it. Since it is bobbin-driven, there aren’t many fiddly bits. If you bust a bobbin or the flyer you could try to get someone to find another old one or you could get someone to make a new one. That wasn’t a big concern for me, at any rate.

    Yes, it only has one ratio. You can make tighter twist by treadling more/faster before letting the fiber into the orifice. I have made chunkier and more slender yarns with it.

    It is not my only wheel. I used to have a Babe, which I sold and I have a Baynes. It is much like the Babe, only it is made of wood instead of pvc–meaning I am more careful with it outdoors but it is more “period” looking (although still pretty modern in appearance). It weighs a little more than a Babe. The one I have has a noisy treadle–but I have had people tell me it is “soothing” (it click-clacks). It is certainly not as FAST at spinning more slender yarns as the Baynes (which I nearly always use on the fastest whorl on the flyer.

    I hope this helps you!

    I have enjoyed this wheel, and it was quite a bargain.

    grace 🙂

  6. stella Says:

    Hello again and thank you for all the information! If you don’t mind me asking, does 300 sound like a good price for a used one?

  7. Barbara Hunt Says:

    I have recently been given a traub spinning wheel, in pieces. Looking for information and pictures I came across your site. I was wondering if you could email me pictures of your wheel so I could use it as a reference since I am not sure I have all the parts. I need to know what type of screw or metal piece connects the treadle to the flywheel. Also since the belt is also missing I am quessing at the length and width. Any information would be appreciated. Thanks Barbara Hunt

Leave a Reply

