More about the Spray Dye-Soy Wax Stencil & Reverse Stencil Batik

These are the shirts I made as samples with my “new” batik technique:

PICT2474 reverse stencil frogPICT2478 stencilled monkey

I wanted the kids to be able to use their Tribe color and animal-mascot on the shirts, so I really was hoping to do batik, but since I use soy wax, and my regular method has the shirts in the dye bath for less than an hour and I didn’t want to handwash the shirts at camp, I needed something with lower water immersion levels so I could wash them in a few hours when I got home to my machine.

I suspected that spraying the dye on (already mixed with the soda ash activator) would be a good idea–less eating away at the soy wax resist.  

For the frog (green), I did a reverse stencil.  I cut out the frog shape with contact paper and and stuck that on the shirt.  Then I splattered soy wax all around (making that puddley shape), and when it was hard I removed the contact paper from the frog and sprayed the shirt with mixed procion dye & activator solution.  Bagged it up and left it for about 4 hours and then washed it out.

For the monkey (red), I used my regular stencil method, but I sprayed on the activated dye rather than putting the shirt in a bucketful of dye solution.

When I did it with the kids they didn’t turn out QUITE so well, but they were all new at it and it was HOT outside.  I think the wax “ran” too much.  Some of them came out nice, though.  🙂

And an update on my Etsy shop:

GOT WOOL ladies small grey batik sheep tshirt
Zippered orchid purple tote bag with batik ALPACA
PALE SEAS side by side blue green handspun handdyed wool yarn
Sheep Batik t-shirt Unisex 2XL earth green
Goodness Gracious pink 2T tie-dye tshirt
CUSTOM batik fiber animal youth childs batik SHEEP t-shirt GOT WOOL
PINK batik LLAMA micro-mini project or notion drawstring bag NO TEXT
batik ALPACA micro-mini project or notion drawstring bag NO TEXT
FREE SHIPPING batik SHEEP mini project or notion drawstring bag NO TEXT
Batik SHEEP tshirt blue 2XL GOT WOOL
Turquoise blue SHEEP batiked medium small canvas tote bag
FREE SHIPPING batik ALPACA mini project or notion drawstring bag NO TEXT
FREE SHIPPING batik ALPACA mini project or notion drawstring bag NO TEXT
FREE SHIPPING batik SHEEP mini project or notion drawstring bag NO TEXT
FREE SHIPPING batik FLYING DRAGON mini project or notion drawstring bag NO TEXT
blue DRAGON batik youth small tshirt
FREE SHIPPING batik GOAT mini project or notion drawstring bag NO TEXT
CUSTOM Batik Fiber Animal tshirts Sheep Llama Alpaca Goat or Bunny YOU PICK color and size
earth green batik FLYING DRAGON tshirt youth medium
pink batik BUNNY tshirt youth med long-sleeve
Grey and Grape Shetland handdyed handspun yarn
Silver and Strawberry Coopworth Wool Handspun Handdyed Yarn
FOAMY PALE SEAS blue green handspun handdyed wool yarn
PALE SEAS side by side blue green handspun handdyed wool yarn
FOAMY PALE SEAS blue green handspun MINI skein wool yarn FREE SHIPPING
Etsy
Buy Handmade
goodnessgraciousWV
Leave a Reply

