The RIGHT peanut butter cookies (recipe)

I saw a recipe in an online magazine for pb&j cookies, but, well, you know how I am…I wanted MY peanut butter cookies that I’ve ALWAYS made.  I am not even sure if this is my mom’s pb cookie recipe or one from a cookbook, but I’ve been making them since grad school (about 20 years).

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 c brown sugar

1/2 c (one stick) butter

1 c peanut butter

1 egg

1/2 t vanilla extract

1 1/2 c flour

1/2 t baking soda

 

I used a mixer to cream the sugars & butter, added the pb & egg & vanilla.  Then put in the dry ingredients and mixed by hand.  Form 1 1/4″ balls.

For regular (perfect!) pb cookies, flatten the balls on an ungreased sheet with criscrossed fork tines and bake 350 for about 10 minutes.

To make pb&j thumbprint cookies, make the same balls, but instead of flattening with fork, make a thumbprint & fill it with jelly or jam (we used strawberry).  Bake about 12 minutes at 350.

peanut butter & jam thumbprint cookies

2 Responses to “The RIGHT peanut butter cookies (recipe)”

  1. Angi Jurado Says:

    I’ve never had jelly in my PB cookies. It looks and sounds delicious! Thanks for sharing! Merry Christmas and Blessings to you and yours!

  2. DEB Says:

    PLEASE SUBSCRIBE ME TO THIS WEBSITE

Leave a Reply

