Pumpkin Cheese Pie with Ginger Snap Crust

I wanted pumpkin cheesecake a couple of weeks ago, but, well, I overthink EVERYTHING and wanted it to be “exactly right”.  So, there was a whole internet search… Found lots of recipes, but I didn’t want to make a BIG cheesecake (guess who would eat it all?). I wanted it to have cottage cheese in it as well as cream cheese.  I wanted it to be fairly pumpkin-y.  This is what I cobbled together:

Crust: couple handfuls of ginger snaps and a handful of walnuts and 2 tablespoons of butter. Crunched up in mini-food processor and pressed into Pyrex pie plate.

Food processed 8 oz of cottage cheese smooth.

Mushed up with electric mixer:
8 oz cream cheese
1/2 c brown sugar

2T flour
Vanilla
Little orange extract
Spices: cinnamon, ginger, cloves
Then add half of 15 oz can of pumpkin. Add the smooshed cottage cheese. Add 2 eggs.

Pour into the pie crust and bake at 325 for 50-75 minutes until center is set.

(ooops, I can’t find the picture of the slice of pie. gratuitous picture of my giant orange cat instead)

Leave a Reply

